the quick cookie fix

imageToday we had our 1st death on the farm. Remember my post about our 1-legged chick? (If not, you can read about it here). Well, sadly, she has finally passed.

When the boy went down for his nap today, I got outside, like I usually do. I collected the eggs, watered my seedlings, and checked on the chicks.

But, today was different.

When I walked into the pump house (where we keep the babies) to check on them, I looked through the mesh top of the brooder, and noticed a lifeless lump in one corner of the box. Right away, I knew. I knew it was Stumpy. image I flipped the lid up, and all the chicks scattered and chirped, like chicks do, and… trampled her a little bit. Just then, something crazy happened; with her eyes closed, she lifted her head!

I ran back to the house to grab my gloves, and contacted my friend Tracy, my “go-to” chicken gal. She told me to remove the pullet from the rest of the birds, and suggested I give Stumpy a little honey on her tongue. If she was going to survive, she needed her blood sugars to rise, and fast!

I manned up, quickly made a “hospital” brooder to place her in, and brought her into the house. I placed a couple drops of honey into her mouth, and she opened her eyes! And then, right after, Stumpy took her last breath. *sniff*

R.I.P. Stumpy. image After I buried her, I came inside, and thought about what just happened.

I killed her. No, I really did….

She was doing just fine with one leg! Yeah, she was a little smaller than the rest of the chicks, but she was managing. And then a couple of days ago, I, stupidly, literally put their food just out of her reach. They kept knocking it over, and getting pine shavings & poop into it… it HAD to come up a notch! But it was one notch too many for ol’ Stumpy. image Depressed, I laid on the couch playing 5 lives of candy crush, while the boy terrorized Bellagio.

Then, I decided I needed a pint… of ice cream.

But living 30 minuets from town means you don’t always get what you want. I would have just whipped up a batch, but (eye-roll) SOMEONE hasn’t bought me an ice cream maker yet, even though I’ve been hinting about wanting one for a long time…I guess sometimes you just gotta do things yourself.

So, I did the next best thing: I logged on to Pinterest, and clicked onto my “cookies” board. I found this recipe for Dark Chocolate, Pistachio, and Smoked Sea Salt Cookies by Joy the Baker, and scanned the ingredients. YESSS! I had everything on hand! I even had the smoked sea salt that my jet-setting sister brought me from France! {Can you smell the jealousy?!} Whatever… at least she brings me spices. image I’ve modified the ingredients a bit. (And by “modified” I mean that I didn’t exactly have enough pistachios that the recipe called for. But I wish I did…they may have turned out even better.)


Dark Chocolate, Pistachio & Smoked Sea Salt Cookies

adapted from Joy the Baker | makes about 24 cookies
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup granulated sugar
½ cup packed brown sugar
1 large egg (preferably from the coop!)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1¼ cups all-purpose flour
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
1½ cups dark chocolate chips
½ cup shelled pistachios, coarsely chopped
Smoked salt for topping

Place rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 300°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat butter and sugars together until pale and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add the egg and beat in for about 1 minute. Add vanilla extract and beat to incorporate.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add the mixture all at once to the butter mixture.  Beat on low speed until just incorporated. Finally, mix in the chocolate chips & pistachios. image Scoop cookie dough by the 2 tablespoonful onto prepared baking sheets. Leave about 2 inches of room between each cookie. Sprinkle generously with smoked sea salt.

Bake cookies for 22 minutes (Joy suggests 18, but my oven is a bit weird), or until just golden brown. Remove from the oven and allow to cool on the pan for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Cookies will last, well wrapped, or in a jar, at room temperature for up to 4 days.


image p.s. This is the 1st batch of cookies I’ve EVER made, that actually gave me 24 cookies… even WITH me dipping the spatula in the batter! Bravo Joy!  

One thought on “the quick cookie fix

Leave a Reply

